Student Senate Election ResultsStudents Cast Their Votes for 2016-2017 Senators

ESU Student SenateKathleen Kraemer

Monday and Tuesday of this week, Student Senate opened up their polls for their 2016-2017 elections.

Positions up or election included president, vice president, various senate seats, and student senator at large.

The polls closed at 2 p.m. on Tuesday, and the results were announced Tuesday evening.

Student Senate at ESU is a body of 11 executive board members and 45 senators.

According to their constitution, each class (freshman, sophomore, junior and senior) is guaranteed eight seats in the senate.

There are five seats reserved for graduate students, and the remaining seats are filled regardless of class.

The Senate represents the student body to faculty, staff, the Student Activity Association (SAA), university administration, the campus community and many other organizations.

Recently, members of senate have made visits to the state capitol to represent the student body to Pa. senators and representatives.

Senate is also responsible, among other things, for voting on issues such as club constitutions, running the Humans of ESU instagram account and SAA expenditures, and running events such as Community on the Quad, Wiener Day, the Teddy Bear Drive, Club Summit Meetings, Club Fair and Town Hall meetings.

Current Student Senate President Drew Johnson graduates this May, opening up the presidential seat.

Andrew Kissling ran unopposed won.

The open vice president position was a contest between Keisha Kauffman and Theresa Chey.

Kauffmann took the win for the 2016-2017 academic year.

The full list of senators has not yet been released (as of Tuesday night), but senators who have announced their election include Ashyln Jackson, Kennedy Sheely, Marcus Narcisse and Taina Moore.

The staff of the Stroud Courier wishes to extend their congratulation to all of the newly elected senators.

Join Student Senate on Saturday, Apr. 30 at noon on the Linden Quad for their last event of the semester the 16th Annual Community on the Quad.

The theme of this year’s Community on the Quad is “We are the world at ESU.”

According to the posters, the event will include “inflatables, giveaways, free food, live music and lots of fun!”

Keep your eyes open for interviews with new Student Senate President Andrew Kissling, Vice President Keisha Kauffman, and outgoing President Drew Johnson in next week’s issue!

Email Kathleen at: